Eating seasonably (and sensibly!)

30 Sep

I sign up to loads of e-newsletters and occasionally a little treasure comes pinging into my inbox.  Yesterday I was sent a link to a website called Eat Seasonably, which sounds pretty sensible to me and is something that I’m keen to start doing, until I get my own little veg patch to start growing things on.  Best of all, there are three fab downloadable posters which you can print out and stick on your fridge to remind you which fruit and veg are in season in each month.  Download the wheel from here and the monthly charts from the Green Thing blog here. Apparently the big supermarkets as well as market stall-holders are on board to make sure we know which foods are in season, through better labelling and better offers.

If everyone made an effort to buy food that was in season and grown in the British Isles (or even more locally than that, if you can get it!), there would be a reduction in  environmental impact and your hard-earned pounds would stay in the British economy to fight another day.  Sounds good to me and let’s face it, we need all the help we can get! Plus, fruit and veg grown in season need less artificial light, heat and fertiliser than if it was grown out of season – hooray!

There is plenty of other good stuff on the Eat Seasonably website including loads of recipes for all those courgettes you’ve grown (Hannah!).  PS thanks for the purple tomatoes – they are fab!!

In other news, I feel like someone has hit me in the back with a cricket bat.  I slept like a log last night (could the two be related?)  I find out in 37 days whether I still have a job (fingers crossed).  And I start my first spanish lesson tonight (hola!).

One Response to “Eating seasonably (and sensibly!)”

  1. cichknigiot January 12, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    very interesting, thanks

Comments are closed.

