Venting…

5 Jan

[vent]

Wow.  Just. Wow.  And not a good wow either.  What is it with some people?  The festive spirit has well and truly gone, and it’s only the 5th January!  Gawd help us for the rest of the year.

Today at the train station a woman trod squarely on my foot when we were walking towards the ticket barriers.  Admittedly she was walking really slowly so I moved across in front of her to get to an empty barrier but as I did so she properly stood on my foot.  As usually happens when someone stands on my foot, even if it wasn’t my fault, I apologised straight away.  This time it pretty much was my fault so of course I apologised.  Did I get an apology back?  Of course not  – not that I really expected one – but what I really didn’t expect was the stream of vitriol that spewed from this woman’s mouth about how I thought saying sorry was enough and that I walked right in front of her what did I expect etc etc etc.  This lasted for fully half the length of the platform, with my trying to explain that I knew it was my fault and I had apologised and wasn’t sure what else I could say or do.  In hindsight I should have totally ignored her and now I’m left trying to shift this huge annoyance.

She must have had a really bad day at work to have behaved like that.  Happy New Year to you too, love.

My angry face

My angry face

Sometimes I hate London.

[/vent]

5 Responses to “Venting…”

  1. classyrose January 6, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    What a terrible experience. It sounds like you had no options to get away from her, but she probably would have kept on.

    Accept the fact she was having a bad day, move on and keep smiling.

    • George January 6, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

      Thanks classyrose. You’re totally right of course. By the time I got home and was warmly greeted by the dog I was feeling a lot better!

  2. Dan B January 10, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    Hi blog buddy. It’s almost been a week since your last post! Just a friendly reminder. Bwahaha. What you going to write about this week?

    Recently I was talking to a friend about Metro ettiquette (the Metro being Newcastle’s version of the Underground.) When it snowed around a month ago, lots of people ended up taking the Metro to work for a change and they didn’t know Metroquette. One of the unspoken rules is that, if you accidentally touch a person (knock their knee) you should both pretended it never happened. If somebody apologises it just gets awkward.

    Of course, if somebody steps on your foot then apologies are in order. But only a short, quick apology. Nothing more. Accidents happen after all. Some people just don’t know their Metroquette unfortunately!

    • George January 10, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

      Are you sure you’re going to be a blog buddy and not a blog BULLY!?! hehehe

      I have an idea about what I’m going to write about – I’m going to write it tonight, so you’ll soon see!

      Good point on the ignoring the knee-touching – it would be a bit weird – but don’t you think that it’s odd that we never/rarely communicate with people whilst commuting? Commuting is such a cold experience but I think it would be much nicer if people spoke to each other once in a while…

      • Dan B January 10, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

        Ah, blog bully…you don’t know how right you are. That’s almost a perfect summation of me. If I see a mis-used apostrophe I wont hesitate to beat you with it.

        Part of me does wish we lived in a magical world where it was completely acceptable to talk to strangers on the commute, but I fear that part of me is just the part that would like to chat-up women.

        I think part of the no talking rule is down to the fact you’re just going to work. You’ve not got onto the train to make friends. It’s only ever the creepy people that want to talk on public transport…

Comments are closed.

