I. Hate. Packing.

23 Feb

I hate packing.  I feel like I haven’t had a weekend off for weeks because I’ve been packing up my flat, plus scrubbing it from top to bottom.  Still, I am finally out, my tenants are finally in (and what lovely tenants they seem to be!) and I am safely and warmly ensconced in my friend’s dining room for the next few months.   It has a sofabed and is rent-free so can’t complain!

Without wishing to sound like I’m making an Oscar speech, I couldn’t have moved without the help of my lovely dad, who is sorting all my stuff at his house, my lovely boyfriend, who has put up with my grumpiness and stress over the last couple of weeks, Antonia for helping me pack, and Tim for helping me get my stuff up the stairs into my new room!

The other thing that’s been getting me through this is the thought of the house I’ll be moving into!  Yep, I have bought a real, actual house, with stairs and a garden and everything!  I’m so excited!  When I say “buy” I mean I’ve had an offer accepted.  The “buying” bit hasn’t actually happened yet, but if all goes well I should be moving into my new place in mid-May.  Importantly, it has a garden – a 90 foot long garden!  Great for the dog, veggie growing and bbqs.  It’s also near loads of green space, was built in 1709 and is Grade-II listed, which should be interesting down the line!  Almost best of all, it has an annexe, which used to be a wash house and workshop for the old manor house in the area (next door used to be the stables).  This has planning permission to convert into a studio flat, so when (if?!) I have some money I’ll be able to convert that and let it out, so I can have a lodger without ever having to see them – hooray!  So whilst I truly do hate packing, I love unpacking – especially into a new place like this!

Fingers crossed the mortgage application goes through – it’s been “approved in principle” but I really hope it doesn’t get turned down in practice.  You all have to keep your fingers crossed for me.

PS I just had a phone call from my tenants.  The loo flush has broken – and so my landlady duties begin!

4 Responses to “I. Hate. Packing.”

  1. The Ramblings Of A Demented Mind February 23, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    Best of luck with everything! 🙂 May be you should upload some pictures of this new home sometime! 🙂

    • George February 23, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      Thanks! I will do – don’t want to jinx it just yet – maybe once I’ve got the keys!!!

  2. Ali February 24, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    Yay! Congratulations on getting your tenants in. Hope they turn out well – did you fix their flush?! I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for the house, it sounds wonderful so I hope it works out 🙂

    How exciting!

    • Georgina March 1, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

      My dad fixed the flush – something had been put on upside down, apparently. At least it all works now!

      Will keep you posted on the house – no more news yet….

Comments are closed.

