The Green Chain – PriceMinister’s Blogger Interview for the environment

27 Jul

PriceMinister will donate £10 to a charity of your choice if you publish your answers to the questions below.  Hurry though as you’ve only got four more days left to do it!  I thought it would be useful for me as I’m trying to make my new house as ‘green’ as possible.  bearing in mind it is grade II listed and built in the early 1700s I think this could be an interesting task.  Here are my answers – what are yours?

Interview:

1) Turning the heating down by just one degree in your house saves 240kg of CO2 a year. It would take eight trees to soak up this amount of CO2! Are you currently doing anything to make your home eco-friendly?

I’ll be making sure there is decent insulation in the roof – I already need to replace a roof gully as it’s leaking, so this may entail replacing all of the felt as well.   I’ll be using tri-iso I think, which is really thin which is great for space saving, but also doesn’t contain any nasty irritant fibres. 

The house is only single-skin brick and is single glazed.  So I may use the tri-iso on the walls as well.  I’ll have to investigate double-glazing to ensure it fits with the listing.  Or secondary glazing may do, which I can remove when it is warmer again.

I must say that I do feel the cold but I’ll always be wrapped up in winter to ensure I don’t have to have the heating turned up TOO high!

2) Rainforests once covered 14% of the earth’s land surface, now they only cover 2%. How are you reducing your use of paper?

Well I’m really stingy and hardly send any paper Christmas cards, except to grandparents.  Does that count?  I don’t take a newspaper but read up on current affairs online.  I rarely write letters, which I think is sadly a lost art as it is always nice to get post, but write emails instead.  I use recycled paper where possible (even at work) and buy recycled loo roll.  I recyckle as much as possible rather than throwing it away, which has massively reduced my general waste.

3) At PriceMinister we believe that trading second hand items online is a great way to extend the life span of products. Have you ever thought of buying or selling second hand items on or off line?

I’m planning on getting most of my furniture second-hand.  I’m getting a washing machine from a friend who has two, the current occupants of the house are leaving their cooker and so I just need a fridge now.  I haven’t really got anything to sell but I recycle or give away as much as possible, to charity shops or the recycling centre.

4) One of the biggest environmental challenges we face is Freshwater Shortages. Are you taking measures to reduce your water consumption?

I already only take showers instead of baths.  The new house will have a water meter and I’m going to get two water butts for the garden.  I’m going to see if any of my grey water can also usefully go into the butts too.  I’ll check out the flush on the loo to make sure I’m not flushing more than I need to.  I was even considering a compost toilet but not sure whether the grade II listing would preclude this…

5) How do you choose the produce that goes into your shopping basket? (any favorite products?)

I use Ecover products a lot but also look for other natural products that haven’t been tested on animals.  I buy recycled loo roll too – they are a lot better than they used to be!  I don’t buy much meat (Big G is a veggie and I’m not much of a fan).  My aim is to buy more seasonal fruit and vegetables but I haven’t made much headway with that I’m afraid.  I’m hoping to have my own veg patch next year so it’ll be easier (and greener!)  I find it annoying that there is so much packaging in our foods, and loads of it can’t be recycled either.  I take my own shopping bags 90% of the time.

6) What is your favourite green space near home? (a photo would be great!)

It used to be the Horniman Gardens but I’ll have to find a new one now I’ve moved!

7)  Which charity would you like to support and why?

I would like to support Young People’s Trust for the Environment because as Whitney Houston once said “I believe that children are our future”.  Also I hope that helping young people will encourage their parents to get involved as well. 

8 ) Please give us the url of a fellow blogger (or bloggers) you would like us to contact to raise an extra £10. Or tag them on Twitter with this tweet:

@[your-friends-twitterID-here] u’ve been tagged @TheGreenChain take the eco interview & raise £10 – 4 charity! http://bit.ly/mNCe8o

http://alisonmlea.wordpress.com/

You’ve only got four days left – what are you waiting for!?

